Amigo from Samba de Amigo is the 12th and final free character planned for the first year of Sonic Racing: CrossWorlds. The announcement comes from the game’s official account and the official SEGA update page, which also details the crossover content.
The free update adds Amigo as a racer alongside the Amigo (Classic) skin and the Locomotive of Amigo machine. It also adds three songs from Samba de Amigo to the game’s Jukebox. SEGA says an internet connection is required to claim the add-ons.
The two official announcements list different dates for the crossover. The game’s account says Amigo arrives on September 8, 2026, while SEGA’s page lists September 9, 2026 and gives its event schedule in UTC+8. The account places the Samba de Amigo Festival from September 10 at 8:00 p.m. to September 13 at 7:59 p.m. ET; SEGA lists the event from September 11 at 8:00 a.m. through September 14 at 7:59 a.m. UTC+8. The material available for this update does not establish whether the difference is caused by region, time zone or an editorial inconsistency.
According to VGC, Amigo will be added automatically when players next update the game, rather than requiring them to find and download the character as a separate DLC item. That distribution detail comes from VGC’s report and is not stated in the SEGA update page supplied for this story.
Sonic Racing: CrossWorlds was announced for both PlayStation 5 and PlayStation 4 in the PlayStation Blog. However, the primary Amigo announcement does not explicitly specify the platforms receiving this particular update, so its availability on the PS5 and PS4 versions should not be treated as separately confirmed by the evidence currently available.
PlayStation has also reported that SEGA teased a second Season Pass for the game, including DLC based on Godzilla and Evangelion. That announcement establishes the crossover references, but not a complete lineup, release schedule, price or platform breakdown for Year Two.
VGC reports that Amigo brings the game’s total playable roster to 57 characters when unlockables, pre-order bonuses and DLC are counted. SEGA’s official Amigo page does not state that total, so the figure remains attributed to VGC rather than presented as an independently confirmed roster count.




